Health insurance :
are you covered in another European country ?

The principle of coordination of European social security systems :

Social protection schemes between the 30 countries of the European Union (EU) (1) and the European Economic Area (EEA) (2) have been coordinated. This coordination aims to facilitate the free movement of persons. (3)

In the field of health insurance, for example, it prevents the same person from being uninsured or being insured twice within the EU-EEA.

Social security relations with the last acceding countries :

Before the accession of Romania and Bulgaria, effective since 1 January 2007, France was bound by a bilateral social security agreement only with Romania (Convention of 16 December 1976). As of January 1, 2007, this agreement is no longer applicable. The Community regulations replace this old agreement from the same date.

Situation of expatriate workers :

An employed or self-employed person affiliated to the French social security system who is expatriated to another Member State is insured, save in exceptional cases, in the country where he/she carries out his/her professional activity and must contribute to the social security system of that country.


  1. Since 1 January 2007, the Member States of the European Union have been Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.
  2. The countries of the European Economic Area (EEA) are: the Member States of the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway.
  3. Switzerland also applies this coordination system.

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website. Learn more